Home | News Stories | Analysis | Video Clips | Initiative Texts | People | Support Us | Your Stories | Contact Us

News on the English for the Children Campaign


July 1997 -- 21 Items

  1. Petition drive aims to reform bilingual classes
    Pasadena Star-News, Thursday, July 31, 1997, FRONT PAGE.
  2. Movement Would Revamp State's Bilingual Ed Program
    California Education Funding Alert, Wednesday, July 30, 1997.
  3. Next Big Push From California: No Bilingual Ed
    Christian Science Monitor, Wednesday, July 30, 1997, FRONT PAGE.
  4. Wealthy Palo Altan backs statewide initiative
    Palo Alto Weekly, Wednesday, July 30, 1997.
  5. Life and Times, Length: 12:58.
    KCET/Los Angeles, Monday, July 28, 1997.
  6. Week in Review, Length: 13:57.
    Century Cable/Los Angeles, Friday, July 25, 1997.
  7. English Not Taught Here, by Hal Netkin
    Wall Street Journal, Thursday, July 24, 1997.
  8. Bilingual Bunk, by Jill Stewart
    New Times Los Angeles, Thursday, July 24, 1997, p.4.
  9. Bilingual Education Under Attack
    Washington Post, Monday, July 21, 1997.
  10. Bilingual Education Gets Foe Group seeks issue for state ballot
    San Francisco Chronicle, Friday, July 18, 1997.
  11. Take the best path to english proficiency
    San Jose Mercury News, Thursday, July 17, 1997.
  12. Anti-Bilingual Education Initiative Launches Signature Drive at School near SF's Immigrant Chinatown District
    English for the Children, Wednesday, July 16, 1997.
  13. Bilingual education a mess, by Keith Kreitman
    Independent Group, Saturday, July 12, 1997.
  14. In the bilingual wars, to the barricades once again
    Sacramento Bee, Wednesday, July 9, 1997.
  15. Campaign Targets Bilingual Education
    Los Angeles Times, Wednesday, July 9, 1997, p. B2.
  16. News, Length: 3:06.
    KABC/Los Angeles, Tuesday, July 8, 1997.
  17. Anti-Bilingual Education Initiative Begins Signature Drive in Heart of Immigrant Downtown LA
    English for the Children, Tuesday, July 8, 1997.
  18. Don't throw out the (bilingual baby with the bathwater, by Roger Hernandez
    King Features, Monday, July 7, 1997.
  19. A Bilingual-Education Initiative as a Prop. 187 in Disguise?, by Ruben Navarette, Jr.
    Los Angeles Times, Sunday, July 6, 1997, p. M6.
  20. Attorney General Issues Title and Summary, OK's Qualification Petition Drive,
    Attorney General of California, Thursday, July 3, 1997.
  21. New California Media, Length: 20:58.
    KQED/San Francisco, July 1997.